WBL ...



ADVANI First ever to win IBSF World Snooker thrice


In the history of IBSF World Snooker championships, Pankaj Advani has become the first ever player to win the title three times.

Advani had earlier victories in 2003 (China), 2015 (Egypt) and now another world title for the multi-talented cueist to put him ahead of Gary Owens (Wales), Ray Edmonds (England) and Paul Mifsud (Malta) who won this title twice in their career.

Advani comfortably qualified from his group after winning all four matches and with a frame total of 16-2. In single-elimination rounds, he knocked out Ahmed Saloomi (Yemen) 4-0, Itaro Santos (Brazil) 5-0, Asjad Iqbal (Pakistan) 5-1, Luo Honghao (China) to confirm medal for him.

His semi-final match was against Florian Nle, who qualified from his country as Austrian No.1 at the age of 15. He was also the first Austrian to feature this far in the IBSF World Snooker. Advani, after some hurdles, defeated him 7-4 to enter in the final.

In the final Advani faced Iran's Amir Sarkhosh who was trying to defend title for Iran as his compatriot Soheil Vahedi was winner last year.

Sarkhosh, however, managed to secure first frame as after that Advani rallied frame wins to reach 4-1, when Sarkhosh once again constructed a 134 break in Frame 6, but these were his sole highlights as Advani crossed the line 8-2 and won the title.

Advani also registered the highest break of the event courtesy of a 138 he made in the Group Stages. It was one of five centuries he compiled throughout.

With that, Asia continues with its dominance of retaining IBSF World Snooker title since 2010

Doha, Qatar :: 27 November 2017




Rights reserved with Cue Sports India
Last modified: Wednesday November 29, 2017 12:44:10 +0530