Home Rules Events News Rankings

SHOOTING STARS wins the NPEC Bengal Premier League 2022

30 April 2022 Written By CSI News Desk


Read 1735 times

Team Shooting Stars owned by Saraogis and Chetan Mehta having their marquee players Manan Chandra and Dhvaj Haria won the 2022 NPEC Bengal Premier League at Bengal Rowing Club, Kolkata. The League was organized by West Bengal Billiards Association and sponsored by Natural Products Export Corporation Ltd.

Yesterday in the final, Shooting Stars defeated Magic Cannons of Upendra Singh having the marquee players Brijesh Damani and Malkeet Singh in the deciding frame to claim the trophy. This is the second time that Shooting Stars have won the prestigious Bengal Premier League after 2017.

After the league stage, Shooting Stars finished 4th and qualified for the knockouts where first they defeated Cue Magicians 4-3 and then Dream Chasers with the identical score 4-3 and then final also they won 4-3.

In the final, they were down 1-2 and then 2-3. After that Wangchuk Bhutia of Bengal pulled the 10 Red single frames against Shyam Jagtiani 65-00 to set the decider. In the decider, the pair of Manan Chandra and Dhvaj Haria ousted Brijesh Damani and Malkeet Singh of Top-Seed Magic Cannons 57-26 to claim the trophy.

The players and organizers thanked Natural Products Exports Corporation Limited for their valuable support of being the Title Sponsor of the League. 

The NPEC was founded by Mr. Vimal Kumar Saraogi who himself was a good player of Billiards and played the sport for around 4 decades. VKS was also Vice President of West Bengal Billiards Association earlier and always one of the great patrons of Cue Sports in Bengal during his time and helped the players in every possible way.

VKS passed away recently last month and he survived with three sons. Among them, Aditya Saraogi and Sunil Saraogi were national level players. Both represented West Bengal in a few National championships for both seniors and juniors.

His brother Mr. Pradip Saraogi is the President of the West Bengal Billiards Association and the Vice President in the National Federation i.e. BSFI.